Skip to content

Lastly! Zane Smith Wins NASCAR Tenting World Truck Sequence Championship in Additional time

  • Zane Smith held off defending champion Ben Rhodes by .236 seconds on the finish of a wild last two laps of Friday evening’s Lucas Oil 150,
  • For the ultimate restart, Smith selected to line up behind fellow Championship 4 qualifier Rhodes, reasonably than to his exterior.
  • From that place, Zane Smith was in a position to edge forward of eventual third-place finisher Chandler Smith.

    NASCAR can solely hope its Xfinity Sequence and Cup Sequence championship races are as gut-wrenching, unpredictable, and suspenseful as Friday evening’s season-ending Tenting World Truck Sequence race at Phoenix Raceway.

    Ford driver and pole-winner Zane Smith dominated a lot of the Lucas Oil 150 (prolonged to 154 laps), main 5 instances for 77 laps and profitable Phases 1 and a pair of. However a late-race warning from Hailie Deegan ate away his comfy lead, and he restarted eleventh with 11 laps remaining.

    “I wasn’t gonna let it go down like that,” Smith, the 23-year Californian, stated afterward. “I knew after I got here out eleventh that I have been in means uglier instances earlier than. I used to be both going to wreck or come dwelling with the championship trophy, and we obtained the large one. There was no different possibility.”

    With one other late-race warning for Ty Majeski’s crash despatched the race right into a three-lap additional time, third-running Smith fought his well past chief and defending champion Ben Rhodes and second-running Chandler Smith to win by 0.236 seconds. It was his fourth victory of the season for Entrance Row Motorsports and the seventh of his profession for him, which has seen him end 2nd, 2nd, and now 1st in last factors.

    Rhodes was second, then Chandler Smith, John Hunter Nemechek, Stewart Friesen, Grant Enfinger, Cory Heim, Tanner Grey, Kaden Honeycutt, and Carson Hocevar. After operating among the many top-10 and contending till the ultimate laps, Majeski crashed out to a Twentieth-place end.

    Zane Smith takes the checkers on Friday evening in Arizona.

    Sean GardnerGetty Photographs

    Friday evening’s Championship 4 race was the final below the sponsorship and assist of Tenting World. Starting at Daytona Seaside subsequent February, the third-tier NASCAR collection can be sponsored by Craftsman, an early sponsor of the vehicles.

    The collection started in 1995 because the NASCAR Tremendous Truck Sequence. It was renamed the Craftsman Truck Sequence from 1996-2008, the Tenting World Truck Sequence from 2009-2018, and once more 2021 and this 12 months. It was renamed the Gander Open air Truck Sequence in 2019 and the Gander RV & Open air Truck Sequence in 2020.

    Amongst its championship house owners: Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick, Dale Earnhardt, Invoice Davis, Jack Roush, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, Duke Thorson, and this 12 months’s championship proprietor, Bob Jenkins. Amongst its championship drivers: Mike Skinner, Ron Hornaday Jr., Greg Biffle, Todd Bodine, Johnny Benson Jr., Matt Crafton, Jack Sprague, Austin Dillon, Erik Jones, and Christopher Bell.

    Kyle Busch Motorsports Information

    Two-time Cup Sequence champion Kyle Busch has named the brand new driver lineup for his Tenting World Truck Sequence group that’s shifting from Toyota to Chevrolet subsequent 12 months. The change is consistent with his Cup Sequence transfer from Toyota-based Joe Gibbs Racing to Chevrolet-based Richard Childress Racing.

    Chase Purdy will run the total schedule within the No. 4 Chevy Silverado and Jack Wooden will share the No. 51 truck with Busch and a rotating roster of Cup, Xfinity Sequence, and Truck Sequence drivers. Seven-time Cup champion Jimmie Johnson has even been talked about as maybe a part of KBM’s new Chevy lineup.

    NASCAR Tenting World Truck Sequence Race

    twenty eighth Annual Lucas Oil 150

    Phoenix Raceway

    Avondale, Arizona

    1. (1) Zane Smith (L), Ford, 154.

    2. (6) Ben Rhodes (L), Toyota, 154.

    3. (12) Chandler Smith (P), Toyota, 154.

    4. (10) John Hunter Nemechek, Toyota, 154.

    5. (5) Stewart Friesen, Toyota, 154.

    6. (13) Grant Enfinger, Chevrolet, 154.

    7. (3) Corey Heim #, Toyota, 154.

    8. (4) Tanner Grey, Ford, 154.

    9. (15) Kaden Honeycutt, Toyota, 154.

    10. (22) Carson Hocevar, Chevrolet, 154.

    11. (23) Derek Kraus, Chevrolet, 154.

    12. (9) Matt Crafton, Toyota, 154.

    13. (2) Layne Riggs, Toyota, 154.

    14. (24) Tyler Ankrum, Toyota, 154.

    15. (20) Colby Howard, Chevrolet, 154.

    16. (17) Jake Garcia, Chevrolet, 154.

    17. (21) Taylor Grey, Ford, 154.

    18. (32) Lawless Alan #, Chevrolet, 154.

    19. (19) Chase Purdy, Toyota, 154.

    20. (8) Ty Majeski (L), Toyota, 154.

    21. (26) Dean Thompson #, Chevrolet, 154.

    22. (11) Matt DiBenedetto, Chevrolet, 153.

    23. (31) Tyler Hill, Toyota, 152.

    24. (30) Austin Wayne Self, Chevrolet, 152.

    25. (25) Blaine Perkins #, Chevrolet, 152.

    26. (28) Chris Hacker, Toyota, 152.

    27. (29) Timmy Hill, Toyota, 152.

    28. (27) Johnny Sauter, Chevrolet, 152.

    29. (16) Jack Wooden #, Chevrolet, 151.

    30. (7) Christian Eckes, Toyota, 151.

    31. (14) Hailie Deegan, Ford, Accident, 133.

    32. (18) Rajah Caruth, Chevrolet, Accident, 106.

    33. (33) Spencer Boyd, Chevrolet, Too Sluggish, 63.

    34. (34) Keith McGee, Chevrolet, DVP, 15.

    35. (35) Armani Williams, Chevrolet, Accident, 6.

    (Daring: Championship 4 Contenders)

    Common Pace ​​of Race Winner: 89,003mph.

    Time of Race: 1 Hrs, 43 Minutes, 49 Secs. Margin of Victory: 0.236 Seconds.

    Warning Flags: 7 for 41 laps.

    Lead Adjustments: 15 amongst 7 drivers.

    Lap Leaders: Z. Smith (P) 1;L. Riggs 2-6;Z. Smith (P) 7-48; J. Nemechek 49;C. Heim #50-54;J. Nemechek 55-86;Z. Smith (P) 87-93; J. Nemechek 94-97;C. Smith (P) 98-105; J. Nemechek 106-111;Z. Smith (P) 112-136; J. Nemechek 137;S. Friesen 138-143;B. Rhodes (P) 144-151;C. Smith (P) 152; Z. Smith (P) 153-154.

    Leaders Abstract (Driver, Instances Lead, Laps Led): Zane Smith (P) 5 instances for 77 laps; John Hunter Nemechek 5 instances for 44 laps; Chandler Smith (P) 2 instances for 9 laps; Ben Rhodes (P) 1 time for 8 laps; Stewart Friesen 1 time for six laps; Layne Riggs 1 time for five laps; Corey Heim #1 time for five laps.

    Stage #1 High Ten: 38,51,52,4,88,99,23,18,98,62

    Stage #2 High Ten: 38,4,18,51,66,88,23,52,17,99



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *